Book Review: Diary Of a Wimpy Villager (Book 1)

On my reviews page I said I’d review the next book I finished, so… Here it is. I’m actually halfway through The Mind Readers and that should be my next review if nothing comes up in the meantime. This… is a children’s book, so yeah. I picked it up last night for free on Kindle and read it today in about 10 minutes.

It’s Minecraft children’s book… Yeeeaah >.>

What Is Diary of a Wimpy Villager (Book 1)

This is a self-published kindle book by one Cube Kid. And it’s the diary of a twelve year old Minecraft villager; Runt, who wants to become a warrior.

What I Said On Amazon:

DOaWVThe bad cliffhanger annoyed me, but that’s only half the reason I gave this book less than I thought it deserved on story alone. I’ll get to that in a sec. All in all I do recommend it if you’re into humorous video game-based stories. There are many books like this by several different authors and I’d give them all a far try (and eventually I will) for being entertaining.

My Thoughts on Diary of a Wimpy Villager:

Bad things first as it’s the norm… It’s aimed at a younger audience so I won’t complain it’s short, but I will complain about how it ends BECAUSE it is aimed at a younger audience. I don’t know when this book was released and I don’t care. I finished reading minutes ago and I’m already pissed I can’t know what happens next. Kids are not known for their patience.

The other reason I wouldn’t give five stars was this:

reviewblackmail

It’s got over 62 five star reviews now… WHERE’S BOOK 2?

“As soon as you give me X amount of positive reviews I’ll let you know what happens next.” This is blackmail. I don’t like it and I respond terribly to it. I was soft to leave this out of my assessment when I reviewed this book for Amazon, but I don’t hold back here. I would have given this 2/5 stars if I had taken this into account. It’s not a good practice the way I see. If you want reviews from your readers you ask for their opinion out of kindness of their hearts. Odds are you’ll get it. You don’t ask for positive feedback. And you certainly do not ask it in return for the next part of your story. You do NOT do that.

Giving this book the same rating I gave Ordinary Handsome or Joshua’s Island would be insulting after this.

Steven Baird and Patrick Hodges asked me for my honest review and not for positive reviews. The only thing they offered was the reading material and I purchased Ordinary Handsome the same day I posted my review. I liked it so much I thought it was unfair to not give the author my money. I’m not as generous of a reviewer as I may seem; it was that good of a book in my opinion. That’s the kind of review I want when my book is out there and you can’t get reviews like that by holding closure over your readers’ heads like this.

Rant over. Let’s move on.

I really liked this book. It was simple and funny and a great distraction. And I enjoyed it a great deal more than the Diary of a Wimpy Kid books that my nephew forced me to read. I am highly tempted to contact the author about translating this to Portuguese just so I can gift it, but I wouldn’t dream of doing that until there’s a story with an end for him to read. If I give my nephew a book that says “WE’RE DOING SOMETHING AWESOME NOW.” and then ends, he may blow a fuse.

Do I Recommend This Book?

All in all, as much as I liked this story… I’m not sure. I liked up until the point it managed to piss me off.

Yay or Nay?

I like it, but I can’t get past the non-ending. So it’s not a Nay and it’s not a Yay… It’s a Meh.

I got this book for fee on Amazon, buuut it is 99 cents now, if you want to see for yourself here is the link.

See you guys next time.

B.B

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Diary Of a Wimpy Villager (Book 1)

Let's Chat!

