The Long Road

It’s been a long time since I’ve mentioned the Travelers or my progress. There’s a reason for that and it’s simple: I’m trying to think as little as possible. I haven’t even shown Sarah any of the rewrites I’ve been doing, nor have I posted them on the Absolute Write boards like I did the first couple of them, because I want to reach something I feel satisfied with first. Without any outside opinions or analysis. And I’m not sure if I am going back to Absolute Write when I feel I’m ready to get feedback.

Don’t take that to mean I don’t like the boards there, or that the people there have been rude or mean to me in any way, they’ve been mostly friendly and at the worse oblivious to my presence, but I didn’t feel right there. I didn’t fee like a part of that community. It’s not because I was new; others who had arrived after I did managed to fit right in. It’s a matter of… I don’t know… Chemistry, maybe. I connect with fellow authors better through WP than I have anywhere else. For the moment, I think I’ll continue connecting exclusively here. 🙂

As for my rewrites… I’ve been experimenting with close 3rd person narrative, similar to what I use on SOF. I’ve gone back and forth between 1st and 3rd person before on my rewrites and, as I mentioned a thousand times, I believe 1st person is difficult to get right when you’re writing multiple POVs. So I’m trying out 3rd person and seeing if now it makes more sense than last time I tried… I don’t know. Something needs adjusting, something is missing, I’m just not sure what it is. I have the scenes in my head, but when I write them it just doesn’t… Work. Hmph.

I’ll figure it out. I will. 🙂

B.B

Let's Chat!

