Believing You Have Greatness

I read this post on Don Charisma’s blog just now and I’ll admit the quote intrigued me.

If you don’t want to click that, although you should, the quote is: “Creativity means believing you have greatness.”

I think the reason people have such difference of opinions, or they don’t understand this quote, is that people have different views on what constitutes greatness.

I’ve never thought of myself as great.Β However, I do agree with with that quote. It reminds me of the moment I really started to see writing as something amazing. And it was when I first read Tolkien. While I’ll admit that I got into LoTR because of the movies, and the movies do have some amazing visuals, the story never really awed me until I realized that it, all of it; that Universe in its entirety, originated within one person’s mind. I was eleven, maybe twelve, at the time and for a kid that’s just mind-blowing. And to me, that constitutes greatness.

Two of my three brothers are scientists, I grew up with creative geniuses whose ideas could one day change the world in practical, tangible ways. People may not understand those ideas, just as they didn’t understand mine, but they were able to at least appreciate that. My ideas are and always have been intangible, unpractical, ridiculous or just outright psychotic… Every time I open my mouth there’s a 90% chance people won’t understand what the heck I’m talking about or why because I blurt out completely unrelated things out of nowhere with an excitement that is just… Worrying to some people. Have I ever saw greatness in myself? No. I do see greatness in my ideas, in my stories, in my characters and in the worlds I’ve built around them. I don’t think that I have a great mind, but I recognize that an average and slightly psychotic mind can accomplish greatness. I see that greatness in others who are like me, Wifey, Doomed, other writers in my RP group, other writers here on WordPress… Creativity is seeing greatness in those parts of yourself that are weird, crazy, ridiculous, or even disturbing. It’s creating intangible worlds and learning how to make them better.

I’m not sure how much of that makes sense to you guys, but that’s my opinion on the matter anyhow. πŸ™‚

B.B

4 thoughts on “Believing You Have Greatness

  1. Well said, Blackbird!

    I wish I were as eloquent as that- and I’m sure many see the same greatness in you.

    (That being said, I did start to read the Shadows role-plays. You’ve got my interest- although it may take me a really long time to catch up on everything lol.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m relieved people seem to think I’m eloquent, at least in this blog. I have to say I don’t get that a lot on a day-to-day basis. ^.-

      And I’m glad to hear that. You know… We’ve been running SOF for 3 years now, I think… In the pace we’re going you may catch up before we manage to publish another round of posts. πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Made perfect sense to me BB … you’re normal, I think πŸ™‚ … Tolkien I experienced at an early age, and he really does help show what’s possible with creativity … Tolkien was great, whether he believed it himself, I don’t know never studied him in detail …

    and like the way you included science in the creativity mix, people doing technical and scientific pursuits are just as capable of being creative as artists πŸ™‚

    D

    Liked by 1 person

Let's Chat!

