Friday The 13th (2009) Review Follow Up: Alright, Let’s Get Serious For A Moment

I feel the need to clarify some things.

Uh, guys, you do realize I exaggerate a lot of my anger during my review posts, right? I’m not one to get insulted to the point of mindless rage by any form of fictional media. I’m really not. It’s just a style of review that I find entertaining, that I like to watch on YouTube and read on humor sites. When I dislike something I play it up either for laughs or because it’s entertaining to see someone suffering through something they hate (don’t pretend that’s not the reason you all read my Christian Potter Commentary, you sadists >.>).

More and more lately though it’s come to my attention that since these are strictly written reviews some people might not quite get the point, and I don’t blame them for it. It’s not always easy to truly ‘sense the tone’ in writing and it is the writer’s responsibility to get that across to the reader. So, if anything, this is entirely on me.

Don’t take that to mean I wasn’t serious about my opinions; I did hate the Friday the 13th remake. I hated that they showed young Jason in the beginning, I hated that he kept Whitney because she looked like Pamela, I hated almost every character and I hated the ending. Most of all I hated the absence of that classic Jason theme. I wasn’t as angry as I came across though because I expected to hate it. I had no illusions about what this movie would be; another modern slasher film. With Jason.

The only reason this one pissed me off is that I love the original. It was the first slasher film I ever watched. It holds a special place for me. There are a lot of moments of Luckas showing up seemingly out of nowhere in the beginning of SOF that are nods to the ‘offscreen teleport’ trope in slasher films. Luckas doesn’t teleport; he hides and is often caught hiding, but it’s an in-joke I have with myself. Jason was the first guy I saw do that. I thought it was unbelievably unsettling. I loved it. I still love it.

So, yes, this is not the worst of bad horror remakes out there (I’m looking at you Psycho remake >.<) and honestly if I hadn’t watched the originals it probably wouldn’t have bothered me. I probably would barely remember watching it in fact, just like I can’t remember any of the characters’ names for the most part. *shrug*

So there. I promise this is the last follow up post on this movie, but I genuinely wanted to get this out there for future reference:

I’m not really that angry and it’s okay to disagree with my assessment of a movie, in fact I’d encourage you guys to do that in the future if you feel compelled. I won’t bite your head off.

Well, not unless I’m really, really, hungry. That tends to make me cranky. >.>

B.B

Let's Chat!

