Things (and lines of dialogue) That Should Be Banned From Fiction

*random overused line from a much better book than this could ever turn out to be*

*obligatory ‘describing myself in front of the mirror’ scene*

*obligatory ‘character bitching about how totally not special they are’ scene*

*obligatory ‘character saying things the much older/younger author believes people their age always say’*

*obligatory ‘character acting in stereotypical maiden in distress/knight in shining armor’ moment*

*obligatory internal thinking about how amazing the love interest is*

“I remember it like it was yesterday…”

“My life was about to change forever…”

“It was a dark and stormy night” (yes, people genuinely still do this one, go figure)

“Little did I know”

“When I was a child, my mother said… *insert generic ‘words of wisdom’ line*”

“I never asked for this!”

“Why me?”

“I’m not a hero.”

*obligatory ‘character insists they don’t care, but then show up and help anyway for no fucking reason other than plot’ moment*

Prophecies. Just prophecies. (and yes, I am guilty of this, but hopefully I gave it enough of a twist =.=)

*obligatory ‘you’re the only one who can save us so I’mma gonna go ahead and die for you’ moment*

“Everyone I care about dies!” (seriously, characters should never say this, no matter how true.

*obligatory ‘saying I don’t love you even though I clearly do because I want to protect you from something’ moment*

I could go on, but I think you get the picture. >.>

B.B

Let's Chat!

