The Dark Age of Animation Argument

It’s bullshit. I see this on the deviant art forums and other places on the internet and it’s complete and utter bullshit.

This argument is, of course, that the quality of animated shows has been decaying over the past years to a point where there will be no good shows left in a near future. People who use this argument are saying things like “Oh, soon we’ll be left with nothing to watch other than things like Star Vs. The Forces of Evil (it’s on my watchlist, haven’t checked it out yet) and Steven Universe…”

Well… GREAT. I love Steven Universe. I love Friendship is Magic, I love Adventure Time even though I seriously need to catch up. I love things like the Amazing World of Gumball and Regular Show (which, yes, I’m aware hasn’t been renewed for another season 😦 ). And you know what? As much as I weep for my childhood when I see things like Teen Titans Go and the new version of the Powerpuff Girls, those recent shows that are GOOD make up for all of that. I wish I had grown up with Friendship is Magic, because the MLP gen that I knew as a kid was atrocious. I wish I had grown up with things like Steven Universe and Adventure Time. Heck, some of my favorite things to watch growing up (and well into my teen years) revolved around some form of animal-related violence (Tom & Jerry and Woody Woodpecker were my vice), the most intelligent humor I knew was the Animaniacs and yes; that show it still fucking brilliant if I watch it today, but if you think about it, it was the smartest thing on my watch list at the time.

Even Spongebob had its good phase at some point in the last decade and the good episodes of that show were GOOD!

As for the things I find atrocious… Like Teen Titans Go and Uncle Grandpa (Say Uncle is the only episode of SU I refused to watch and will NOT be reviewing)… I hate them but at the same time, I can see why people like it. It’s not my type of humor, but it’s overall okay.

I could make a case that I might even like TTG if I was able to see it as its own thing apart from the original Teen Titans. And I will blame that show’s writers 100% for the fact that I can’t. They seem to go so out of their way to piss on the original because ‘how dare you compare our remake to the thing it’s based on?’ I mean, seriously dudes, what did you think was gonna happen there? =.=

I posted Mr. Enter’s review on that episode when I first ranted about TTG before, but I might review Slade’s Return just to make a case on this some day. Right now, though, it’s not the time.

What I’m saying here is that Animation is not declining. It’s not going into a ‘dark age’, it’s evolving and developing differently than it used to and, you know, if you don’t like any of it, then… Consider the possibility that you’re now an adult who doesn’t like cartoons, or simply watch the old stuff that you love. If you’re an animator yourself, well, then dude… Shut up and go make something you deem better. In the words of a wise space rock… You don’t have to cry about it. =.=

B.B

P.S: I’ve been out and about all day and don’t feel like actually working on things… And since I suspect there actually won’t be a new Steven Universe episode tonight (at least none has been announced that I know of), I might actually do a review of the show’s first two episodes tonight. And maybe make it a weekly Thursday thing. We’ll see if I can do it. ^^’

 

Let's Chat!

