Goals for 2017

I’m a little late on the New Year thing and that’s because my sister and family came over on New Year’s Eve and my nephew hasn’t left until today. Needless to say, I was rather occupied.

I hope you guys had a good New Year’s Eve and that your 2017 is starting off great. I… I’m trying no to be too optimistic. I have possibilities for some great things happening in my personal and family life this upcoming year and I don’t want to jinx them because, I won’t lie, 2016 was; with no exaggeration, one of the worst years of my life. I suffered losses, I suffered stress, I lost sleep, I was depressed, I was mentally and emotionally exhausted and numb. About 90% of this past year I just survived. Barely.

I do have to appreciate now more than ever the good people I have in my life. And the understanding of some kind strangers towards my situation. It helped. A lot.

But… That’s over and done with… So on to happier things, right?

B.B’s Goals for 2017!!!

1) Finishing SOF this year

This isn’t entirely in my power to do since it depends on Wifey and Doom’s schedules as well, but I’m hopeful. >.>

2) Start Publishing Shadows Rise by the end of February (the latest)

That means having it written, edited, beta read, edited some more, and ready to go in the next month or so.

3) Moving on with NITWIT commentary.

I won’t let this fic be the death of me!

4) Moving on with the Disney Revisited reviews

No, I haven’t forgotten about this.

5) Moving on with MLP and Steven Universe reviews

Haven’t forgotten about this either. Especially with SU coming back and after watching MLP’s 6th season.

6) List ten good things about the Star Wars prequels

Yeah, if you watch the Nostalgia Critic you’ll know he’s done this and you know what… I think this will be a good thing for me. I have way too much resentment towards these movies. Rewatching them and looking for positives might turn me into a calmer person. 😛

7) Try to give more writing and character development tips and advice.

I’ve had a lot of people ask me advice on how I create characters and… I want to try and give it. At the same time, though, it’s hard for me to do it because it’s the one thing I consider myself naturally gifted in. Not in the sense that I’m the best there ever was, lol, no, but in the sense that it’s a bit of a natural process for me. These people just randomly show up in my head and tell me about their lives. I don’t envision every single thing about them. I don’t give much conscious thought into what makes them human or relatable.

But, I know a lot of writers struggle with this and I want to help, so… I’ll try to do it somehow. 

8) Offer more constructive criticism

I’ve done a bit of critiquing this past year for writers who wanted it and it was a great experience for me. It’s taught me a bit about looking at writing with more objective eyes as well as helping me feel more confident about speaking my mind about people’s work.

But I haven’t been able to do much of it due to how much I’ve been feeling shit this past year and hopefully in 2017 I’ll be able to do it more often.

9) Start off Writing In Shadows sometimes this month.

It needs introductions posts and info pages and stuff. And I’ve been really slacking on getting that done.

10) Sleep better

…She says, knowing that she was up until 6 am again watching Avatar: The Last Airbender. >.>

11) Eat better and go out more

I seriously need to stop forgetting to feed myself and… more exposure to sunlight would do me some good, I hear. >.>

So yeah. There are major more personal goals I have, but like I said… I’m trying not to think about them much and I’m definitely not going to expose them online. So, for all intents and purposes; these are my goals for this year. Let’s see how I do with them. 😛

B.B

Let's Chat!

